London postcards

Someone once told me London was not much different from any major city in The United States. This person was wrong.

Press Play: “No One’s Here to Sleep” by Naughty Boy

Among many things, London is cleaner than any major city I’ve set foot in and holds more history in one wing of Piccadilly Circus‘ Eros statue than most US landmarks.

bb
NOT the Eros statue but still historic af

I quickly learned London does many things well (tea + Indian food, for instance; check out Dishoom if you get the chance) but coffee is not one of them. Luckily, the Aussies came through with Kaffeine near Oxford Circle.

kaffeine
Barista most likely judging me for being the 80th person to photograph their sign that day

Not all English-owned coffee shops were disappointing. Climpson + Sons north of London Fields made a decent cup. The owner was inspired by Australian coffee, though, so that may be why.

c&s
I still think about this tart late at night.
marryme
Cute sign along Broadway Market, near Climpson + Sons

London is not as walkable as New York City, but their public transportation system is great. I took advantage of this and caught a train to Kent, Dover to check out the White Cliffs. So worth it:

kent
You know when you don’t photograph as well as you look in real life? Same applies to these cliffs. Amazing.

KC was a gracious host and kind enough to join me for touristy things like Brick Lane, Columbia Road Flower Market, Borough Market, etc. but we culminated my trip with afternoon tea at sketch. AKA the cutest tea party ever.

sketch

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 12.25.56 PM

sketchcondiments
same

Lately, I’ve found myself taking less pictures of my experiences and maybe one day, when I’m old and senile, I will regret it. But that’s a future problem. For now, this is it.

xxsem

One thought on “London postcards

Leave a Reply

